0 items

No products in the basket.

English League Snooker Championship – Qualifier 2 | Meet The Teams

Home » English League Snooker Championship – Qualifier 2 | Meet The Teams

World Snooker Tour (WST) professional Stan Moody is among the line-up for the second qualifying event of the inaugural English League Championship this weekend (4-5 May).

Moody, who secured his professional status by winning the 2023 World Snooker Federation (WSF) Junior Championship in Australia, headlines a line-up that also features two former ranking event semi-finalists, a World Abilitysport Games gold medalist and numerous current and former English national champions.

Landywood Snooker Club owner Paul Lloyd captains the Telford team, which also features Moody, and they will be hoping to join Nottingham Snooker and the LBSO Absolute Dream Team at June’s finals weekend.

Two reigning English champions will also be competing this weekend. Recent English Under-18 champion Daniel Boyes, who defeated O’Shay Scott in the final in Northampton, represents a Leeds ‘2’ team captained by Lee Brookes, while English Over-55’s champion and 1996 International Open semi-finalist Nick Pearce plays for Gloucester.

Elsewhere, World Abilitysport Games gold medalist Carl Gibson, who was recently honoured at the Crucible Theatre as part of World Disability Snooker Day, competes alongside 2024 WSF Junior Championship semi-finalist Hamza Ilyas and Gary Milne – who reached the finals weekend of this year’s English Amateur Championship won by Steven Hallworth.

Former professionals Mitchell Mann, a former ranking event semi-finalist, and Adrian Rosa, who boasts a professional victory over Alex Higgins on his CV, represent SWMBSA ‘A’ and ‘D’ respectively while recent EPSB Open Series overall winner Jack Bradford and last year’s English Seniors champion Lee Stephens both line-up for Whitchurch Legends.

The full team lists can be found below:

Aldridge & District Snooker League (Aldridge & District Snooker League)

  • Oliver Spooner (Captain)
  • Lee Bannister
  • Andrew Price
  • Graham Cole Jnr
  • Joshua Walker
  • Dan Ward
  • Mitch Lowbridge

Gloucester (Gloucester Snooker League)

  • Ben Wall (Captain)
  • Nick Pearce
  • Luke Newman
  • John Monckton
  • Simon Brooks

Hull MASL (Malcolm Acaster Snooker League)

  • John Galloway (Captain)
  • Carl Gibson
  • Gary Milne
  • Hamza Ilyas
  • Shaun Wilson
  • Andy Greaves
  • Jamie Gibson

Leeds ‘2’ (Leeds Billiards & Snooker Organisation)

  • Lee Brookes (Captain)
  • James Pearson
  • Daniel Dean
  • Daniel Boyes
  • Gavin Godfree

Ormskirk League (Ormskirk & District Amateur Snooker League)

  • Barry Adlington (Non-Playing Captain)
  • Gareth Hibbott
  • Martin Brown
  • Jon Holmes
  • Chris Hoare
  • Andy Booth
  • Paul Williams
  • Ian Jones

SWMBSA ‘A’ (Staffordshire & West Midlands Billiards & Snooker Association)

  • Tom Burgess (Captain)
  • Andy Tapper
  • Riley Parsons
  • Bal Sembi
  • Adrian Rosa
  • Jack Harris
  • Chris Jones

SWMBSA ‘C’ (Staffordshire & West Midlands Billiards & Snooker Association)

  • Michael Brezwyn (Captain)
  • Callum Wraight
  • Steve Powell
  • Martin Coffey
  • Jamie Harris
  • Robert Hayden-Brown
  • Keith Richards

SWMBSA ‘D’ (Staffordshire & West Midlands Billiards & Snooker Association)

  • Gary Miller (Captain)
  • Anthony Harris
  • Martin Quinney
  • John Pritchett
  • Milan Krstanovic
  • Mitchell Mann
  • Saqib Nasir

Telford (Telford Snooker League)

  • Paul Lloyd (Captain)
  • Matt Davies
  • John Fallows
  • Stan Moody
  • Tom Maxfield
  • Paul Harper
  • Mike Dorey

Warrington Snooker League (Warrington Snooker League)

  • Scott Horobin (Captain)
  • Phil Bate
  • Tyler Whittaker
  • Declan Cassidy
  • Mike Hutchinson
  • Patrick Wisedale
  • Gary Lunn

West Wilts ‘A’ (West Wilts League)

  • Robin Clark (Captain)
  • Andy Kerr
  • Tom Myhill
  • Martin Small
  • Martin Hinds
  • Simon Morgan

Whitchurch Legends (Whitchurch & District League)

  • Lee Gorton (Captain)
  • Robert Dubicki
  • Michael Dubicki
  • Lee Stephens
  • Jack Bradford
  • Matthew Roberts
  • Chris Chapman