0 items

No products in the basket.

EPSB | 2023/24 Season Review

Home » EPSB | 2023/24 Season Review

Last weekend’s English League Championship finals weekend saw the 2023/24 English Partnership for Snooker & Billiards (EPSB) season reach its conclusion.

The campaign saw national tours and championships staged across various age ranges and disciplines with a significant increase in entry numbers, prize money and new memberships.

As preparations for the new season begin, we take a look back at a memorable campaign.

Open Snooker

Steven Hallworth defeated Callum Downing 6-4 at the Landywood Snooker Club to win the English Amateur Championship.

The EPSB’s flagship event holds the distinction of being the longest running competition in the sport following its first staging in 1916 and Hallworth’s success saw him join a prestigious roll of honour which features the likes of Ray Reardon, John Spencer, Terry Griffiths, Jimmy White and Stuart Bingham as he became the 103rd winner.

The five events held during the English Amateur Tour season saw four different winners, but victory in both of the first two events was ultimately enough for Hallworth to finish top of the ranking list.

Over 100 cueists competed in England’s premier national amateur tour and Billy Castle, Craig Steadman and Jake Robinson each also picked up a title during a highly competitive campaign.

Junior Snooker

Oliver Sykes was the dominant force on the English Junior Tour as he stormed to victory in four of the five events to finish top of the ranking list by an impressive distance.

National championships were held at under-21, under-18, under-16 and under-14 levels in events which produced four different champions and highlighted the strength-in-depth across the age ranges.

Paul Deaville joined a prestigious English Under-21 Championship roll of honour, that includes reigning world champion Kyren Wilson, by defeating Aidan Gallagher 5-3 in the final to add this title to a trophy cabinet that already includes the English Under-14, English Under-16 and the English Amateur Championship crowns.

Daniel Boyes claimed the biggest title of his young career to date by winning the English Under-18 Championship at Barratts Snooker Club in Northampton with a 5-3 victory over O’Shay Scott.

Scott was also the runner-up in the English Under-16 Championship as he fell to a 5-4 defeat in the final to Vladislav Gradinari, who was the only player to defeat Sykes during the English Junior Tour season on his way to winning the fourth event and also lifted the EBSA European Under-16 Championship title during an impressive campaign.

Nicholas Ayers made amends for his final defeat 12 months ago by defeating William Thomson 4-0 to win the PowerGlide English Under-14 Championship.

A record-breaking tally of 173 players took part in this year’s English Under-14 Championship, with many engaging in a competitive event for the very first time.

Craig Steadman plays a shot.

Seniors Snooker

Former professional Craig Steadman finished in top spot on the English Seniors Tour ranking list by taking the title in three of the five events during the season.

Final victories over Wayne Brown and Neil Craycraft gave Steadman victory in the first two events of the campaign and he also claimed the Event 4 crown courtesy of a 4-1 win over Stuart Watson.

Nigel Bond overcame Neal Jones 4-2 in the final of the English Seniors Championship at the Landywood Snooker Club to add to the English Over-55’s crown he won last season.

However, the former World Championship finalist was unable to defend his English Over-55’s Championship title as he fell at the semi-final stage to John Welsh, who was then defeated 3-0 by Nick Pearce in the final in Tamworth.

League Snooker

The 2023/24 campaign saw the English League Championship held for the first time at the Landywood Snooker Club.

A total of 17 teams competed in inaugural staging of the newest EPSB national championship and two qualifying events staged across April and May saw the field reduced to eight for the finals weekend in June.

The Whitchurch Legends team, featuring Lee Gorton, Robert Dubicki, Michael Dubicki, Lee Stephens, Jack Bradford, Matthew Roberts and Carl Bennett from the Whitchurch & District League, made history with a deciding frame victory over SWMBSA ‘A’ in the final become the first winners.

Women’s Snooker

Tessa Davidson was the dominant player in the brand new Winchester Women’s Open Series and took the title with a 3-1 victory over former world champion Mink Nutcharut at the Grand Finals.

The series, held for the first time during the 2023/24 season, saw 22 different cueists compete across eight regular season events – with Davidson claiming four of these titles to finish top of the ranking list before claiming overall victory at The Winchester Snooker Club in May.

In the English Women’s Championship, held at the Landywood Snooker Club at the end of May, Rebecca Kenna won the title for the second time in three years by defeating Davidson in a final frame decider.


Rob Hall defeated Chris Taylor 952-443 at the Northern Snooker Centre in June to complete a memorable hat-trick of English Billiards Championship crowns.

Hall, who is placed third in the World Billiards ranking list, has been victorious in all three staging’s of the English Billiards Championship since 2022 and also compiled the tournament high break of 360 en route to the title.

The calendar has been announced for the 2024/25 season and all events are now available to enter. Find out more.