0 items

No products in the basket.

New Partnership Boosts University Snooker

Home » New Partnership Boosts University Snooker

The English Partnership for Snooker and Billiards (EPSB) is today pleased to announce a new affiliation with UPC which will help to provide more opportunities for students within the UK to represent their university within cuesports.

Recognised by British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS) as the governing body for university cue sports, the UPC promotes cue sports at Higher Education institutions in the UK and exists for the benefit of players at this level.

Ben Hubbard, UPC Deputy Executive Chair and Snooker Tournament Director, said: “The UPC is delighted to announce its affiliation with the EPSB.

“This follows our recent acceptance of an invitation from BUCS to take over the organisation of its UK university snooker championship and demonstrates our continued support of cue sports at Higher Education institutions.

“We look forward to leveraging the structure and knowledge of the EPSB to help us grow the BUCS Snooker Championship over the coming years.”

WPBSA Chairman Jason Ferguson commented: “The UPC’s affiliation to the EPSB represents another positive step in fostering important working relationships for our sport.

“We’re exploring how we can strengthen our links to education across many regions worldwide.

“This is an exciting time as we seek to build new pathways at all levels.”

The move comes as part of a wider initiative led by the World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association (WPBSA) to encourage more young people to play snooker.

Last year saw the launch of the inaugural ‘HengYu Cup’ Jiangsu College Billiards and Snooker Championship in China, which involved 28 universities and approximately 200 players.

Meanwhile, this year’s All-Africa University Games will feature both billiards and snooker for the first time as demonstration events.

This year’s BUCS Snooker Championship will take place from 12-15 March at the Cueball Derby and McCluskey’s in Derby.

The deadline for students to enter is 3 March.

Full entry details are available here