0 items

No products in the basket.

Womersley Wins Open Series Playoff

Home » Womersley Wins Open Series Playoff

Daniel Womersley defeated Riley Parsons 3-1 in the final to win the 2022/23 EPSB Open Series Playoff and earn a free Q School entry for next month’s staging in Leicester. 

Following a plethora of regular Open Series events throughout the season, this invitation-only playoff featured the 16 highest-placed eligible players from the ranking list. This season’s number one Hamim Hussain automatically secured his complimentary Q School berth, while second-placed Ryan Davies – last season’s winner – received a free entry for claiming the English under-21 championship.

The playoff was generously sponsored and hosted by long-time EPSB Open Series supporter, the Tradewell Snooker Club in Hull. 

Womersley lived up to expectations on the East coast as the number one seed for the tournament. He defeated Hayden Staniland 3-0 in the opening round but had to come from behind twice to dispatch Matthew Roberts 3-2 in the last eight – registering breaks of 104, 82 and 56 in the process. 

The 31-year-old then top scored with 62 as he denied Jack Bradford 3-0 in the semi-finals before recovering from the loss of the opening frame as he crafted breaks of 48 and 50 whilst getting past former professional Parsons in the all-or-nothing title match. 

Quarter-finalist Lee Shanker made the day’s highest break – a 118. 

The EPSB would like to express its appreciation to the Tradewell for hosting and supporting the playoff.